Is Your Baby a Reincarnated Dog? Mine Is.

I’m not big on religion, and I’m unconvinced on the prospect of an afterlife, but I’ll tell you what I do believe in: reincarnation.

Specifically, dog-to-human reincarnation. More specifically, the ability for dearly departed afghan hound/doberman rescue mutts to be reincarnated into adorable half-Jewish babies.

What I’m saying is, I’m pretty sure Bubba embodies the spirit of the late, great, Tucker.

If you’re not familiar with Tucker, he was the first dog TFW and I had together, and to call him the greatest dog who has ever lived would be an understatement. Sure, I’m a little biased, but just behold this magnificent beast:

He was maddeningly wild (one did not walk Tucker; one simply held onto the leash and tried to avoid cars while Tucker raced through town, sniffing out squirrels and greeting anyone within a two-mile radius), and he could be a little naughty (we lost our entire deposit when we moved out of our rental house thanks to Tucker’s creative “landscaping;” in addition to the run-of-the-mill holes he dug, he also chewed down an entire palm tree — and we had only had him for four months when we moved out). But he was also fun-loving, affectionate, gentle, and loyal.

And his joy! My god, did that dog love just being alive. Every single day was the best day of his life. He didn’t walk, he pranced. He was the embodiment of happiness, lightness, and carefree exuberance. He never met a person (or dog) he didn’t like, and everyone loved him, too. You couldn’t look at this giant goofy-looking mystery pup (anywhere we went, at least one person would ask “what kind of dog is that*?!”) galumphing about without smiling!

Tucker’s death was sudden and tragic, and we were devastated. There was a hole in our hearts and in our family. We eventually adopted another dog, but it wasn’t the same at all — Tucker’s joyful spirit simply couldn’t be replicated nor replaced (Connie, if you are a secret canine genius and can read this, please relax: we love you, even if you are neurotic and have none of the joie de vivre possessed by your predecessor).

11 months after Tucker’s death, a new light came into our lives: Bubba.

And I swear to you, this baby is Tucker all over.

Like Tucker, Bubba is high-maintenance, but his cuteness and personality more than make up for it. They also share a passion for laundry baskets:

And they both like to have a cuddly friend at their side:

And like his spirit animal, Bubba loves, loves, loves his Mama.

I’ll share one more little example that convinces me that Bubba has at least a little bit of Tucker’s special spirit within him: when we would take Tucker to the dog park (his absolute favorite activity in the world, rivaled only perhaps by eating bacon), he would race around with the other pups for hours. In between all the excitement, though, he never failed to periodically “check in” with us by zipping by and giving us a quick lick before darting back off with his doggie pals again — it was like he was saying “Mom, Dad, I’m having a great time here, but don’t worry: I still like you and I haven’t forgotten about you!” Nowadays, Bubba does the exact same thing when he’s playing: he’ll be running around like a madman, singing to himself and throwing lemons into the air, then suddenly drop everything and dash over to give me a giant hug. My son does many, many things that make me happy, but I do believe this is my #1 favorite.

I’m know all parents think their babies are magical joy-bringing little creatures, and I’m also aware that lots of babies share Bubba’s (and thus Tucker’s) many fine qualities. But Bubba so perfectly captures Tucker’s classic blend of enthusiasm, tenderness, and insanity, it’s uncanny — and it makes my heart happy.

*if you’re wondering how we determined that Tucker was in fact 50% doberman and 50% afghan hound, the answer is simple: we are insane and spent $60 getting his DNA tested. WE HAD TO KNOW.

14 thoughts on “Is Your Baby a Reincarnated Dog? Mine Is.

  1. Tucker is certainly up there with the other dearly departed Wachter hounds–Gustav and Sweetie. Each of them really special characters, each of them rescues who in return gave us each so much of their hearts. I loved them all. MIL

  2. Aah, I think babies are incredible Joy bringers, just like dogs. We have 2 and Nicky loves them. Dogs and babies have so much natural joy, I am just enjoying them.

  3. Oh Mo, I’ll honestly never forget when you called to tell me about Tucker’s accident. Just so sad……but on a cheerful note I like this blog and the pictures very much!

  4. Oh, Tucker! Tears! What a joyful spirit. And the photo where he’s lying like his cuddly love is lying..sigh. I used to make up stories about my childhood dogs’ past lives. Our cuddly Samoyed was a lesbian on the run and she eventually got caught by the people she had robbed. Our smelly elkhound was a Nazi hunter. That one..was cool.

  5. I have to say that the pictures of both Tucker and Bubba made me smile. Their energy comes right through the picture. I must admit that I sometimes think that our son is the reincarnation of the best cat ever, Rodney. I always said that Rodney was just barely a cat, that he was definitely one reincarnation away from human. He was the best cat that ever lived. And sometimes our son does strangely Rodney-like things, and I’ve got to wonder. Two things in this post make me like you very much – 1. Your new dog is named Connie. Love that. 2. You paid for the doggy DNA report. I am now extremely tempted to run one on our little dog, Fancy. Who is far too fancy to be just a mutt.

    • I just love the thought of our pets living on in some way…I’m glad you see it with your cat, too! 🙂

      And yes, Connie is a great name for a dog! Except when she killed a squirrel and I mentioned in on facebook and someone unfamiliar with her thought I was talking about a deranged animal-hating human being.

      As for the DNA report, it is SO WORTH IT! you just do a cheek swab and mail it in and they send you a detailed report and a certificate. We were so excited to get the definitive answer for Tucker because he was so funky looking and everyone had different guesses as to what he was (I thought doberman/greyhound – I wasn’t too far off).

  6. Mo somehow I missed this post. Uncle Wayne wants to read them now after falling in love with Bubba at GG’s 90th. I’m sold, thank you Tucker for your return as a human!

  7. I absolutley love that I came across your story. My girlfiend of now 6 years and I tried for two years to have a baby. I know now why I always believed we would not concive until our lab Brady was gone. He had to be put to sleep on May 24th at the ripe age of 11. We became pregnant with a baby boy on May 25th. His due date is Feb/28th a day before Bradys I just know in my heart he will be here a day late. At our first sonogram at 8 wks. our baby boy was to small to even see but we clearly saw a shadow of Bradys face. People think I am crazy but no one can deny that Bradys face is seen in our ultrasound. Thank You so much for your story!!!!!

  8. I am so glad I came across your story. My girlfriend a I have been together for 6 years now and have been trying to get pregnant for 2 years. I know now why I did not believe we would concieve a baby until our lab Brady was gone. It was just a feeling I always had without explination. Sadly we had to put Brady to sleep on May 24th at the ripe age of 11. We became pregnant on May 25th the very next day, not even a whole 24 hours. Brady just couldn’t wait. Our baby boy is due Feb 28th a day before Bradys Mar 1st birthday. I know in my heart he will bea day late. At our 8 wk ultrasound our baby boy was to small to even see but Brady was clearly detected, almost an opage glass etched figure of his beautiful face taking up our ultrasound. People believe I am crazy but no one can deny Brady is visible in our picture. Thank you soooo much for you story….I am sorry for your loss…just remember he had to go so he could be with you for the rest of your life!

  9. I’m so glad I can across this. My dog died unexpectedly on Feb. 14th this year and I became pregnant that same week. I truly believe in miracles. We had been trying for awhile and nothing was happening. I love this article.

Leave a comment