Top Ten Tuesday: Stay At Home SUPER Mom, Part Deux

Yes, I know today is Wednesday…but my darling child decided that last night was PARTY NIGHT and stayed up playing well beyond his usual bedtime, meaning my own evening routine was pushed back accordingly and I was left with no time to blog (well I could have, but it was a choice between watching Breaking Bad with TFW or writing my post, and, like a true addict, I chose the drugs). Mildly interesting blog topics are hard to come by, though, so I’m soldiering forth with my Tuesday post in spite of the date!

Anyway. Yesterday morning at about 6:30, as I was chopping up some veggies to toss into the crockpot for my delicious chicken and dumplings dinner (heat be damned, I am FORCING fall into my life), I received the dreaded text from my babysitter: she was sick and would not be able to work. Since TFW is Very Important at his workplace and my Certified Backup Childcare Provider (my mom) was busy with non-childcare-related activities, I had no choice but to take the day off myself!

(As an aside, I’d like to point out that I was making chicken and dumplings the last time this happened, too! Clearly, that recipe is cursed. Next time I’m craving it I’ll save it for a weekend or just plan on taking the day off.)

Just like last time, I took full advantage of the rare opportunity to play Stay At Home Mom. I briefly considered staying in pajamas all day and using Bubba’s nap time to catch up on the Lifetime movies cluttering my DVR (sadly, I am not joking — there are at least five on there), but motivation prevailed and I got to work on my to-do list. When you only get a few vacation days per year, you cannot waste them on relaxation!

Well, I am happy to report that the day certainly did not go to waste! Are you ready to be impressed by my productivity? Check out the top ten productive things I did during my one-day reign as Stay At Home Supermom:

10) Washed out the washing machine. To be fair, all this entailed was throwing some vinegar in it and selecting the “clean tub” function. I had no idea it was going to be so simple or I wouldn’t have left this task to rot on my to-do list for the past year.

9) Backed up my computer. This is another task that is far too easily handled to justify putting off, but I hadn’t done it in weeks. Whew, plugging in that external hard drive and clicking “back up” was tough!

8) Fought with Time Warner Cable about an incorrect bill. I won’t bore you with the details, but believe me when I say that I nearly cried when I got disconnected after 25 minutes.

7) Made a “Bubba cupboard” in the kitchen. I filled it with baby-friendly kitchen crap like the plastic mixing bowls and whatnot, and had high hopes that he would enjoy pulling things out of there and banging them around while I did the dishes. Instead, he took two bowls out, then went to find his truck. Oh well.

6) Went to Target. Is there anything better than running errands in the middle of the day when everyone else is at work!? I was in and out of there in half the usual time! Of course, I still managed to forget something and thus had to make a return visit today after work like a normal human, but I felt productive at the time.

5) Went on a 4-mile jog without the sun in my (and the baby’s) eyes. There is a big difference in sun-positioning between 3pm and 5pm. I can’t wear sunglasses while I run (too much sweat; I spend the whole time pushing them back up every three steps), so it was quite delightful to jog with the sun higher in the sky.

4) Cleaned my office. I can thank the baby for the inspiration here, since he pulled every item off my shelf and knocked a bunch of stuff off the desk, leaving me no choice but to tidy it up again. It looks a lot better now, though!

3) Swept and mopped the kitchen and dining room. All while the baby was sleeping! That’s more cleaning than I usually get done in like a week.

2) Sold an old computer. I’ve had a computer sitting in my closet for a while now. Finally took some pics of it, listed it on Craigslist, BOOM: money in my pocket.

1) Took apart and cleaned every component of my vacuum. I have never been so simultaneously disgusted and impressed. SO. MUCH. HAIR. I almost gagged. It works again, though!

I was in bed by 10pm last night. I tip my hat to you true stay at home mamas!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Stay At Home SUPER Mom, Part Deux

  1. That’s an impressive list. Now, I don’t know if you are ever thinking of owning a shedding dog, but if you ever think about it just remember, just like a kid you have to train it to use the bathroom, and the other part is vacuuming up it’s hair.

  2. Whew! I’m tired out just reading all that. At my age if I walked down to the car and drove to Target, without even going in, I’d be wiped out when I returned, and would remain motionless in my recliner chair the rest of the dayh. No kidding.

Leave a comment